The Board of Governors are the members of the Higher Education Corporation and act both as Governors and charitable trustees. There are 17 members of the Board of Governors. They are drawn from the private, public and voluntary sectors as well as from the staff and students of the University.


The Board of Governors is responsible for:

  • the determination of the educational character and mission of the University and for oversight of its activities
  • the effective and efficient use of resources, the solvency of the University and the corporation and the safeguarding of their assets
  • approving annual estimates of income and expenditure
  • the appointment, grading, suspension, dismissal and determination of the pay and conditions of service of the holders of senior posts
  • setting the framework for the pay and conditions of other staff
  • the assignment and appraisal of the posts of Vice Chancellor, and Clerk to the Board of Governors

For further information, see the Board’s Statement of Primary Responsibilities.


Further information regarding legal compliance can be found on our Compliance page.