University of Northampton's shieldEducation has an extensive history in Northampton dating back to the 13th century whilst the University of Northampton has evolved from the beginning of the 20th century.


1924 Northampton Technical College was established. The St George’s Avenue building was opened by the Duke and Duchess of York in 1932. The School of Art opened in 1937.
1972 Margaret Thatcher opened the College of Education at Park Campus in 1972.
1975 Nene College was formed from the amalgamation of the College of Education, College of Technology and College of Art.
1978 The Leatherseller’s College in London was integrated into Nene College.
1992 Nene College transferred its further education provision to further education colleges in Northamptonshire and focused on higher education.
1993 Nene College incorporated St Andrew’s School of Occupational Therapy and was granted undergraduate degree awarding powers.
1997 Sir Gordon Roberts College of Nursing and Midwifery was also incorporated into Nene College.
1999 Nene College became University College Northampton.
2005 The University of Northampton was established, having been awarded full university status and research degree awarding powers.