University Teaching Fellowships announced for 2010/11

Date 11.11.2015

The University of Northampton’s Teaching Fellowships celebrate excellent work in learning and teaching within the higher education institution, recognising and rewarding staff impact on, and enhancement of, student learning. All staff who support the student learning experience are eligible to apply for the internal awards and recipients (individuals or groups) receive £1500 each to support their own continuing professional development.

The recipients of the 2010/11 University Teaching Fellowships are:

  • Professor Andrew Pilkington, Sociology, School of Social Sciences, for his work using film to train police officers in equality and diversity issues.
  • Eunice Lumsden, Senior Lecturer in Early Years, School of Education, Heather McBryde-Wilding, Academic Support Manager, and Hannah Rose, Academic Librarian, Information Services, for their collaborative work recognising the diversity of learning needs which resulted in significantly enhanced completion rates.
  • Fiona Barchard, Senior Lecturer in Adult Nursing, and Marylyn Richardson, Senior Lecturer in Community Nursing, School of Health, for an enhancement initiative which elicited a very positive impact for BSc Nursing (Adult) students.

Dr John Butcher, Senior Academic Development Adviser, Department for Enhanced Learning, Teaching, Achievement and Employability (DELTAE), who co-ordinate and present the awards, commented:

The panel were especially impressed with the range and standard of all applications this year but felt the successful applications demonstrated a particularly sustained commitment to excellence in teaching which impacted on the student learning experience.

Dr John Butcher

The recipients will officially be presented with their Fellowships at The University of Northampton’s Winter Graduation Ceremonies on Sunday 13 February 2011 at Royal & Derngate, Northampton.