University’s Board of Governors announces new appointment and reappointments

Date 13.11.2015

The University of Northampton is pleased to announce that the Board of Governors has made the following appointments and reappointments.

Ms Haviour Chen has been appointed to the Board and also attended her first meeting as Governor of the University on 24 July, ex officio in her role as President of the University’s Students’ Union.

Further to some public national advertising and a competitive recruitment process, the following Governors have been appointed from 1 August 2013 for a first term of office to Summer 2016:

Mr Mark Mulcahey, an international business consultant, who has particular specialisms in IT and the strategic use of social media.

Mr Martin Pettifor, a marketing specialist currently working at St Andrews, with experience across major household brands commercially, as well as supporting organisations in the voluntary and third sectors.

Mr Nick Pitts-Tucker, a banking specialist with knowledge of project financing and experience of supporting social enterprise organisations.

The following Governors have also been reappointed for a second term of office to summer 2016:

Mrs Sylvia Hughes – Co-opted member of the Board of Governors:

Sylvia has also been appointed as the Deputy Chair of the Board of Governors to succeed Reverend Will Adams. Outside the University, she has retained her role as a local councilor.

Mr David Watson – Co-opted member from the Support Staff:

A majority of the support staff who voted expressed a preference for David Watson, with 81 compared to 24.

Standing down from the Board of Governors are Reverend Will Adams and Mrs Celia Conquest, who have each served on the Board for nine years and through a significant period of change for the University. The Board would like to express its thanks to each of them.

More information will be available on the website in due course about current governors and ongoing developments.