COVID-19 Updates: For advice and updates for staff, students, and applicants who may have concerns about the coronavirus outbreak please visit our Situation Updates page.

The voting has opened for annual Changemaker Awards

Date 26.06.2019

Students, staff and members of the community can recognise the work of their University Changemaker champions as nominations for the annual award ceremony have opened.

Changemaker is a University of Northampton initiative which focuses on staff and students finding solutions to environmental or social problems to improve people’s lives, either at home or abroad.

The Changemaker awards recognise the most innovative and impactful projects and showcase the achievements of staff, students and community members as a celebration of Changemaking in the local community, nationally and globally.

Nominations – which are open to all until Friday 24 November – cover seven categories across the University’s four Changemaker Challenges (education, health and wellbeing, culture and business support). They are:

  • Student Changemaker of the Year
  • Staff Changemaker of the year
  • Community Changemaker of the Year
  • International Changemaker of the Year
  • Education Changemaker of the Year
  • Health and Wellbeing Changemaker of the Year
  • Culture and Heritage Changemaker of the Year
  • Enterprise Changemaker of the Year.

Wray Irwin, Head of University Centre for Employability and Engagement said “Hosting the Changemaker Awards every year is a real honour for us and it’s a truly heart-warming experience to see how so many people come together to celebrate and recognise the achievements of their peers.

“Throughout the nominations process we are able to formally recognise and reward just some of the people who are involved in Changemaking activities through the University and externally. Being able to share their stories is what makes the Changemaker Awards so special.”

This is the fifth year of the Awards which will culminate in an awards dinner during Changing Futures Week in February 2020, to which all shortlisted nominees will be invited.

For full details of these categories and the criteria for each of them, visit the Changemaker Awards webpage where you can also read about all nominees and winners from the last four years.