Outstanding staff are awarded Professor status

Date 12.11.2015

Professor Nick Petford, Vice Chancellor, The University of Northampton, said:

“To become a Professor is an outstanding achievement. A personal chair is awarded specifically to an individual in recognition of their high levels of achievements and standing in their particular area or discipline. Professors have to demonstrate a major contribution to knowledge through either research or consultancy, to teaching, learning and pedagogic development, or to professional achievement and practice.

“All applications are peer-reviewed and based on evidence coming from things such as publishing papers in internationally respected journals, editorship of significant volumes, the generation of patents, inventions and licenses or, in the arts, from the direction or execution or performances, productions, exhibitions or designs.

“The University is immensely proud of the six colleagues who have been awarded the title of Professor.”

All six of the new Professors will now arrange individual lectures:

  • Dr Stefan Kaczmarczyk has been made Professor of Applied Mechanics in the School of Science and Technology.
  • Dr Vida Midgelow is Professor of Dance and Choreographic Practices in the School of The Arts.
  • Dr Simon Burtonshaw-Gunn, from Northampton Business School, is now officially a Professor of Industrial Management.
  • Dr Jane Bacon, from the School of The Arts, is Professor of Performance and Somatics.
  • Dr Lawrence Phillips, from the School of The Arts, is Professor of English and Cultural Criticism.
  • Dr Ian Foster, from the School of Science and Technology, is Professor of Geomorphology.