Mental Health module and student placement aspire to award success with nursing nominations

Date 21.02.2018

A module co-led by the University of Northampton that helps Healthcare Assistants train to become nurses received a nomination in a national nursing award.

The Student Nursing Times Awards shortlist was revealed today, with the ASPIRE project nominated for Partnership of the Year.

Launched in 2016 between the university and St. Andrew’s Healthcare, the ASPIRE programme was created to help Healthcare Assistants study and train to become Mental Health nurses.

Healthcare Assistants combine their learning and experience and can jump straight into the second year of the University of Northampton’s Mental Health Nursing degree. St. Andrew’s Healthcare also offers a £15,000 bursary as well as pastoral support.

The University also secured a second nomination, in the ‘Student Placement of the Year: Community’ category, in conjunction with the Newport Pagnell Medical Centre‘s Integrated Nursing Team.

Emma Dillon, Senior Lecturer in Mental Health Nursing at University of Northampton, led the ASPIRE module working with University colleagues Nicky Peasnell and John Turnbull and St. Andrew’s Healthcare peers Ali Boor, Ged Rogers and Kat Merrick.

Of the nomination, Emma said: “It’s fantastic to receive the partnership award nomination, as much of the work we do at the university in nursing is a collaborative effort with our NHS partners and other community groups.

“But the nomination is also for our wonderful students who, as they progress their careers, have helped us aspire to be even better lecturers.”

Ali Boor, the ASIRE Programme Manager for St Andrew’s Healthcare, explained: “I am so proud of the programme and what it means to the nursing profession, the charity and our service users. It is great to have our hard work recognised and to be shortlisted for these Awards.”

The winners will be announced on 26 April at a ceremony at the London Hilton on Park Lane.

For more about the Mental Health Nursing course at the University of Northampton, see our website.