Former University Vice Chancellor receives CBE

Date 11.11.2015

Ann began her career in secondary education in North Manchester and held several teaching posts in further and higher education. She joined the University of Ulster in 1990 and became Pro Vice Chancellor there in 1995. In 2002 she took on the post of Rector at University College Northampton, overseeing its successful transition to full University status, and in 2005 became the first Vice Chancellor of The University of Northampton.

Reacting to the public announcement of her CBE, Ann commented: “I was very surprised when I received the news that I was being considered for a CBE in November last year. My family and I are thrilled.

“I see this Honour as recognition for the work of all staff and governors at The University of Northampton over the last eight years. During this time we achieved full University status, research degree awarding powers, the major purchase, refurbishment and royal opening of the Newton building… the list of successes goes on and on.

“Perhaps most importantly, the University has helped put Northampton on the map. We have encouraged and supported the success of thousands of our students and alumni, and become part of the community by working closely with local people and businesses, while also growing our national and international links and status.

“Although I have had a wide-ranging career in education, the letter notifying me of the CBE made specific mention of my role as former VC of The University of Northampton, so I believe it is this which has received particular recognition.”

This is great news and we’re all really pleased for Ann. Her CBE is a clear recognition of the stellar progress made by our institution from its early days as a college, to its modern and extraordinary function today as Northamptonshire’s only dedicated provider of higher education, research, business support and expertise.

Professor Nick Petford, Ann’s successor as Vice Chancellor of The University of Northampton

The award to Ann recognises the major contribution she made to the status and development of the University duringher tenure, providing a firm foundation for its continuing development in the future. It is an honour which is well deserved.

Deirdre Newham, Chair of The University of Northampton’s Governing Council

Other notable Awards in the New Year’s Honours list include:

  • Peter Ellwood was also recognised in the New Year’s List and will be knighted. Peter is a an Honorary Graduate and member of The University of Northampton’s Court and previously served on the University’s Foundation Charity
  • Stephen Lloyd Dunmore, also an Honorary Graduate, received an OBE for Services to the Public and Voluntary Sectors. Stephen recently stepped down as Trustee for The University of Northampton’s Foundation Charity.
  • The Vice Chancellor of Teesside University, Professor Graham Henderson, received a CBE. He started his academic career as a lecturer at Nene College in 1975. Professor Henderson commented: “I am absolutely delighted to be able to offer my warmest congratulations to my colleague Ann Tate on her award of the CBE. Having spent the first few years of my academic career in Northampton I still have great affection for the institution and it is great to see the University continuing to prosper. Her award is very richly deserved.”