What is Science and Technology Research in Pedagogy?

The Science and Technology in Pedagogy (STRiPe) Research Group was set up to allow collaboration between staff working on teaching and learning activities related to science and technology. Pedagogy is central to our success, and having a cross-disciplinary and cross-university group aims to help with this.

Areas of interest

The STRiPe group has research interests in seven areas:

  • Technology Enhance Learning
  • Public Engagement in Science and Technology
  • Student Employability
  • Computing in Schools
  • Student Experience
  • Computational thinking and Problem Solving
  • Robotics

Recent projects

Problem Solving and Creativity

STRiPe project underway

Since 2005, colleagues within STRiPe have developing ways to teach problem-solving and Computational Thinking within our Computing and Engineering courses.

This is ongoing activity which has created smaller projects reaching out to schools, supporting local and national agendas on STEM and Computing in education.

Junkbots

An example junkbot

This project was initially funded by East Midlands Development Agency to introduce environmental sustainability, engineering and computing to students in Secondary (and later Primary) Schools.

We set out to engage pupils with a set of activities over four, three-hour sessions that provide an insight into STEM subjects. The children were introduced to waste management, its impact, recycling and reuse, through the idea of making robots from junk. The children applied what they had learned about problem solving and use of materials to build a little junk-clearing robot.

Further details can be found on the Junkbots blog.

Current projects

Visualising the Field

This ongoing project is a collaboration between Dr Naomi Holmes and Dr Scott Turner. Virtual field trips are not a new idea, but with the release of the Oculus Rift providing more affordable immersive/virtual reality equipment, could virtual field trips become immersive virtual field trips at reasonable cost?

The Oculus Rift is set-up with a demonstration of a house and gardens in Tuscany and this is the basis of the test. Students use the headset and, after an initial orientation, walk around the house, and gardens. They then fill in a questionnaire on the experience, as well as talking to the two investigators.

Oculous rift demonstration

The research questions revolve around:

  • Do students like the tool?
  • Do students think this tool could be used for:
    • preparation before a field trip to try out ideas
    • a way of describing a trip when they come back
    • a replacement for field trips
  • What are the limitations of the approach?
  • Where else could it be used, if anywhere?
  • Are there some procedures that need to be put in place to enable effective use of these?

External partners

We are working with the Northamptonshire County Council on the Race to the Top Coding Competition for Northamptonshire schools.

Northamptonshire County Council logo

STRiPe Staff

Staff working with STRiPe include:

Scott Turner, Research Leader (STRiPe)

Dr Scott Turner

scott.turner@northampton.ac.uk
01604 893028

Rob Howe, Researcher

Rob Howe

rob.howe@northampton.ac.uk
010604 892483

Jonathan Adams, Researcher

Jonathan Adams

jonathan.adams@northampton.ac.uk
01604 893074

Mark Johnson, Researcher

Mark Johnson

mark.johnson@northampton.ac.uk
01604 893255

Ali Al-Sherbaz, Researcher

Dr Ali Al-Sherbaz

ali.al-sherbaz@northampton.ac.uk
01604 893182

Louise Maxwell, Researcher

Louise Maxwell

louise.maxwell@northampton.ac.uk
01604 893363

Helena Beeson, Researcher

Helena.beeson@northampton.ac.uk
01604 893340

Carole Morrell, Researcher

Carole Morrell

carole.morrell@northampton.ac.uk
01604 892403

Ruth Copeland-Philips, Researcher

Ruth Copeland-Philips

ruth.copeland-phillips@northampton.ac.uk
01604 893355

Mandy Morrell, Researcher

Mandy Morrell

mandy.morrell@northampton.ac.uk
01604 892403

Paul Cox, Researcher

Paul Cox

paul.cox@northampton.ac.uk
01604 893356

Philip Picton, Researcher

Professor Phil Picton

phil.picton@northampton.ac.uk
01604 893084

Rashmi Dravid, Researcher

Rashmi Dravid

rashmi.dravid@northampton.ac.uk
01604 893338

Gary Hill, Researcher

Gary Hill

gary.hill@northampton.ac.uk
01604 893077

Julie Usher, Researcher

Julie Usher

julie.usher@northampton.ac.uk
01604 893011

John Sinclair, Researcher

John Sinclair

john.sinclair@northampton.ac.uk
01604 893023

 

STRiPe Students

Aleksandra Dziubek

STRiPe currently has one Research Student.

Alex Dziubek

Topic: Towards the Development of Enhanced Strategies for Computing Education within UK Schools Utilising Contemporary Technology

Aleksandra.Dziubek@northampton.ac.uk

Working with STRiPe

If you are interested in working with STRiPe please contact scott.turner@northampton.ac.uk