Karla Tekic

Business Studies BA (Hons)*

  • Year of graduation: 2019, followed by an MA in 2021
  • Current job title: Delivery Consultant
  • Organisation / Company: James Chase Ltd Solutions

About studying with UON

Why did you choose the University of Northampton?

I am from Croatia, and I went to all open days of international universities at high school. I loved the ambassador from Northampton. She presented Northampton in such a lovely way and brought a student with her from Croatia. She also helped with a couple of things before I chose Northampton, after that I just went with it. It felt like the right place for me.

Why did you choose to study your chosen course?

I chose Business Studies as I didn’t know exactly what to go for. I thought about Psychology, but after a personality test showed that my mind suits psychology or business, as well as HRM I chose business and specialised in HRM. I like the element of HRM that considers wellbeing and looking after people, which prompted me to specialise.

What did you enjoy most about the course?

The freedom to ask as many questions as you want. People judge you when you come from our education (Croatia). I really liked the diversity from tutors, and their way of teaching – it was very cool and different to what I was used to.

What advice would you give to those at the considering studying at the University and/or your chosen course?

Enjoy the experience. Ask as many questions as you can. And do a gap year – I haven’t, and I think it would be been better to see it first-hand before moving to my final year. It would have helped with my dissertation. Oh and remember to start the assignments on time.

In ten words or less how would you summarise your University experience?

Best part of my life. Most interesting one.

Anything else you’d like to say about the course and the University?

It was easy to find information on mental health and wellbeing which is what I was interested in using the library, and NELSON (online library resources). The staff are super super supportive. And the activities are free, and that doesn’t happen very often – usually you have to pay for them.

Your University / Career Journey

How did you gain the qualifications or experience necessary?

My current role is a graduate role. I had an interview with many people for the Europe team here, so it helped that I am international, and I was in Croatia at that time (in lockdown). The University and the work experience gained were helpful for my organisational, communication, and time management skills.

Describe your career progression so far, and any plans you have for the future; are there any particular hurdles you may face?

Post-graduation I did my masters (at the University of Northampton), and I was in Croatia for half of it due to Covid. It was hard to get going and hit the ground running. I don’t see myself doing this job role forever. At University we definitely learnt how to treat people, and look after people, and I see some awful things at work. I do see myself as an internal recruiter for a company firstly, and then to move more into employee relations to resolve issues between colleagues. I see myself more as a mediator in future.

What hurdles? The job market is hard, and I need years of experience to get where I want to, that is definitely an obstacle. Time will hopefully resolve this.

How do you think that your study has helped your career or personal development?

The UG and PG courses were both super international which was one of the things I really enjoyed in my courses and that helped me because I work in a Europe team and during the last 6 months I have spoken to so many people from so many countries, so Uni has definitely helped with that.

Which if any skills and knowledge/understanding gained on your degree are useful in your work role?
  • Understanding how to treat people, show respect
  • Some of the things we learnt about CVs, employment law helps me with the phrasing of what I need to write.
What extra-curricular activities did you participate while at University, i.e. sports, volunteering, placements?

I was working and studying so I was trying to juggle… hang out with friends and the gym.

How did these extra-curricular activities impact on your career prospects?

My job when I was studying (pharmacy assistant) taught me how to manage very challenging customers and stress in an environment that was super busy. Most of the time I was alone, so I would be multitasking. It taught me patience – loads of patience.

Are you currently involved in any community or volunteering projects?

No – I am planning to get hold of the dog shelter, but I haven’t been here very long as yet. I would like to volunteer.


* Business Studies has now been replaced with Business Management BA (Hons)