The UK government classifies the following overseas countries as majority native English speaking:

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Australia
  • The Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Canada
  • Dominica
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • Ireland
  • Jamaica
  • New Zealand
  • St Kitts and Nevis
  • St Lucia
  • St Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • United Kingdom
  • United States of America

If you have studied a degree or postgraduate diploma (taught in English) in one of these countries you will not usually have to present other evidence of English language ability.

No other country may be considered as being ‘majority English speaking’ for visa purposes.

Please visit the international students page for more information regarding visas and immigration for international applications.