COVID-19 Updates: For advice and updates for staff, students, and applicants who may have concerns about the coronavirus outbreak please visit our Situation Updates page.

Honorands 2007

Professor Robert Burgess

Vice-Chancellor of the University of Leicester, Professor Burgess is also Chair of the Universities and Colleges Admissions Service (UCAS), a past Chair of the East Midlands Universities Association (EMUA) and past Honorary Secretary of the Society for Research into Higher Education. He is currently chairing the UUK/Guild HE enquiry on Measuring and Recording Student Achievement, President of the British Sociological Association, President of the Association for the Teaching of Social Sciences, Founding Chair of the UK Council for Graduate Education and has been a member of the Council and Chair of the Postgraduate Training Board of the Economic and Social Research Council.
Honorary Award Recipient: Doctorate, 4 February 2007.

Bob Harris

Born in Northampton, Bob has presented on music radio for over 30 years produced, including seven years as presenter of the famous ‘Old Grey Whistle Test’ on BBC2, produced several records, won 3 Sony Bronze Awards, awarded the Gold Badge of Merit by the British Academy of Composers and Songwriters for his contribution to the UK music industry’ and in April 2003 received the Radio Academy/PRS award for ‘Outstanding Contribution to Music Radio.  He is founding co-editor of the magazine ‘Time Out’, compiler of two rock reference books and an autobiography and through his work over three decades for the British music press, Bob is an acknowledged author and archivist.  He currently hosts two radio shows on BBC Radio 2, playing ‘the best music you’ve ever heard’.
Honorary Award Recipient: Fellowship, Tuesday 10 July 2007.

Zandra Rhodes CBE

Studied at the Royal College of Art, where she specialised in textile design.  Her early designs were considered too outrageous by traditional British Manufacturers, so in 1969 she established her own retail outlet on the Fulham Road in London.  Famed for her dramatic, glamorous and extrovert lifestyle, bright hair, theatrical make-up and art jewellery, Zandra has stamped her identity on the international world of fashion and designs for royalty, the rich and famous around the work.  She was made a Commander of the British Empire in 1997.  In 2006 she was Headline speaker at our Textiles Lecture Day and graduates of the University have won the prestigious ‘Zandra Rhodes Textile Award’ at London’s Graduate Fashion week in 2004, 2005 and 2006.
Honorary Award Recipient: Doctorate, Tuesday 10 July 2007.

Lord Naseby

Educated at Bedford School and St Catherine’s College, Cambridge, Michael Morris entered politics in 1968 as a councillor in Islington.  In 1974 he was elected as Conservative MP for Northampton South, a seat which he held for the next 23 years, during which time he served on numerous committees, most notably the Public Accounts Committee and was latterly Deputy Speaker of the House of Commons.  In 1997, he was created a life peer: Lord Naseby of Sandy, Bedfordshire.  This enabled him to continue his work on a number of Parliamentary Committees focused on south-east Asian countries, in which capacity he visited the region following the tsunami in 2005.  Alongside this, he is the Chairman of the Victorian County History for Northamptonshire.
Honorary Award Recipient: Fellowship, Wednesday 11 July 2007.

Lynn Wilson (1939- 2008)

Managing Director of the family construction firm at the age of 28, where he helped steer the growth of the Wilson Connolly Plc from a Northampton company to that of a national organisation, culminating in the sale to Taylor Woodrow in 2003 for £500 million.  The Wilson Foundation that carries the family name now offers local young people a “helping hand”.  Lynn has also made a significant contribution to the local sporting world – to Northampton County Cricket Club in particular where he served as both Chairman (1990-2000) and President (2000-2005).
Honorary Award Recipient: Fellowship, Wednesday 11 July 2007.

Professor Sir AL Aynsley-Green

The first Children’s Commissioner for England and Emeritus Professor of Child Health at University College London. The Commissioner’s role is to give an independent voice to all children and young people and represent the latest in a lifetime of achievement working to improve the lives and wellbeing of children and young people.  Sir Albert’s career in medical research has been equally ground-breaking particularly in the area of pain relief and endocrinology.  His many prestigious roles have included the National Clinical Director for Children, Nuffield Professor of Child Health, University College London, University Lecturer and Fellow of Green College at the University of Oxford, and Professor of Child Health and Head of the School of Clinical Medical Sciences at the University of Newcastle upon Tyne.  He has received many national and international honours and was knighted for his services to children and young people in 2006.
Honorary Award Recipient: Doctorate, Thursday 12 July 2007.

David Fulton

David is a publisher whose commitment to young people with difficulties with for learning as a result of disability, emotional trauma or being from marginalised groups such as has been crucial to the development of inclusive education.  His personal involvement with teachers and others working in schools, to recognise their needs and the challenges which they face every day in the classroom, has enabled him to seek academics who can write books which combine a sound theoretical underpinning with an understanding of the practicalities of working in schools.  Due to this pragmatic approach his books have featured on courses and reading lists for students working at both undergraduate and post graduate levels. In addition to his work as a publisher David Fulton has served his local community as a patron of the St Jude’s Music Festival and through his active participation on the board of a number of educational and charitable organisations.
Honorary Award Recipient: Fellowship, Thursday 12 July 2007.

Mark Van De Weil MA (Oxon), ARCM, HonARAM

Mark is established as one of Britain’s leading and most versatile, clarinettists.  He was born in Northampton, educated at Merton College, Oxford and the Royal College of Music.  As principal clarinettist of the Philharmonic Orchestra (since 2000), the London Sinfonietta (since 2002), the London Chamber Orchestra, Endymion (founder principal) and as a well-known soloist, he performs at major venues throughout the world.  He is a professor at the Royal Academy of Music and active in both playing and teaching.  Mark is particularly well known for performances of contemporary music and has given many premieres.  He has recorded for EMI, ASV, NMC and Finlandia, Olympia records, and for the London Sinfonietta label.
Honorary Award Recipient: Doctorate, Friday 13 July 2007.

Baroness Billingham (Angela) of Banbury

A teacher for over 35 years who has contributed significantly to education, regional economic development and politics in Northamptonshire and Oxfordshire. Having served on Banbury Borough Council, Cherwell District Council and Oxfordshire Country Council, Baroness Billingham was elected to the European Parliament as Labour MEP for in Northamptonshire and Blaby (1994-1999), where she took a keen interested in economic affairs and brought the need to support economic development, especially in the north of the County, to the attention of the European Parliament.  As member of the House of Lords since 2000, Angela worked hard for the recognition of the then Nene College as a University and was Chair of Catalyst Corby until 2006 when it become part of the newly established North Northants Development Company.
Honorary Award Recipient: Fellowship, Friday 13 July, 2007.

Our Campus