COVID-19 Updates: For advice and updates for staff, students, and applicants who may have concerns about the coronavirus outbreak please visit our Situation Updates page.

Honorands 2003-2005

2005 Honorands

Professor Will Alsop OBE RA

Internationally renowned Northampton-born architect who is famous for his artistically derived, colourful and innovative architectural and urban design concepts. Celebrated buildings include the Cardiff Bay Visitor Centre, Hamburg Ferry Terminal, North Greenwich underground stand the regional government headquarters in Marseilles and the acclaimed Peckham Library and Media Centre, for which he won the Stirling Prize for ‘Building of the Year’ in 2000. A Professor of Architecture in Vienna, Chairman of the Architecture Foundation, Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts, member of the Royal Institute of British Architects and a Royal Academician. In 2005 Professor Alsop received an OBE for services to architecture.
Honorary Award Recipient: Fellowship, 14 July 2005.

Mr Stephen Dunmore

Chief Executive of the Big Lottery Fund since June 2004. Previously Chief Executive of the New Opportunities Fund, in 2003 he was appointed Chief Executive of the Community Fund, in order to lead the merger of the two organisation to form the Big Lottery Fund.
Honorary Award Recipient: Fellowship, 15 July 2005.

Baroness Manningham-Buller (Eliza)

Born in Northamptonshire, attended Northampton High School, then Benenden School and read English at Lady Margaret Hall, Oxford. She worked for three years as a teacher in London before joining the Security Service in 1974. In the Service she specialised in counter-terrorism, both international and domestic. She became Director-General in 2002 before retiring in April 2007. She is currently a cross bench member of the House of Lords, a governor of the Wellcome Trust and a member of the Council of Imperial College, London.

Dr John Toby

A GP in Northampton for 33 years before retiring from his practice in 2002 and since then has been Chair of Northampton Primary Care Trust. He has had a long involvement in medical education and was Deputy Director of GP education for the Oxford Region and Chairman of the Royal College of General Practitioners during the 1990’s.
Honorary Award Recipient: Fellowship, 13 July 2005.

Mr John Whittaker

John is the Chief Executive of the Northamptonshire Association of Youth Clubs. Youth Work has been his life’s commitment for over 40 years with more than 23 years of his working life playing a leadership role within this organisation. Additionally, he led the development of the King’s Park Conference and Sports Centre in Northampton.
Honorary Award Recipient: Master of Arts, 15 July 2005.

Dr Ron Whittaker

Chief Executive of SATRA (shoe and Allied trades Research Association) the leading UK technology centre for consumer product testing. Dr Whittaker has a long professional relationship with the University from examining PhDs to being a member of Court. His strong commitment to the county and the region is represented through his Board membership of EMDA (East Midlands Development Agency), the LSC (Learning and Skills Council) and two local schools. Honorary Award Recipient: Fellowship, 14 July 2005.

2004 Honorands

Bill Amberg

Designer of elite leather goods, who began his design consultancy business in London in 1982. His work encompasses furniture products, luggage and other similar leather goods.
Honorary Award Recipient: Fellowship, 13 July 2004.

Peter Ellwood

Chairman of ICI and former Chief Executive of Lloyds/TSB. A member of the Court of The University of Northampton.
Honorary Award Recipient: Fellowship, 16 July 2004.

Chris Fox

President of the Association of Chief Police Officers of England, Wales and Northern Ireland and former Chief Constable of Northamptonshire.
Honorary Award Recipient: Fellowship, 13 July 2004.

Jeffery Greenwell

Retired Chief Executive of Northamptonshire County Council and former Governor of University College Northampton.
Honorary Award Recipient: Fellowship, 14 July 2004.

Eric Lawe

A bandleader and photographer from Northamptonshire.
Honorary Award Recipient: Master of Arts, 15 July 2004.

John Leaver

Chairman of SITA Environmental Trust, who has worked in the wastes management industry for over thirty-seven years.
Honorary Award Recipient: Fellowship, 16th July 2004.

Peter Robinson

Managing Director of Easirider Company Ltd, and Honorary Secretary of the Real Sheepskin Association.
Honorary Award Recipient: Master of Arts, 15 July 2004.

Martin Wylie

Former Chief Executive of Northamptonshire Chamber of Commerce of Commerce and Business Link. Currently a Trustee of Royal and Derngate Theatres and an Accreditation Assessor for the British Chambers of Commerce.
Honorary Award Recipient: Master of Arts, 14 July 2004.

2003 Honorands​

Joan Armatrading MBE

Musician and songwriter of extraordinary and enduring talent, her career began in 1972 and continues with widespread acclaim including being nominated as one of the 100 most influential women in rock.
Honorary Award Recipient: Fellowship, November 2003.

Colin R Chapman MA, CEng, CSci, CChem, FEI, FNucI, FRSC

Born in Northampton, qualified as a chemist and had an illustrious career in the power generation industry. He has a long established interest in professional education and training and has occupied a senior role within the Engineering Council and as a consultant to the United Nations.  An acclaimed international lecturer and published author on British Social, Military and Family History specialising in Northamptonshire and surrounding counties.
Honorary Award Recipient: Fellowship, November 2003.

Dame Elizabeth Neville

Deputy Chief Constable Northamptonshire Police 1994-1997 and Chief Constable Wiltshire Constabulary 1997- to present. She was awarded the Queen’s Police Medal in the 1996 New Year’s Honors List and in the 2002 New Year’s Honors Lists was created a Dame of the British Empire.
Honorary Award Recipient: July, 2004.

Lady Gayle Robinson

Canadian by birth, Lady Robinson, together with her husband Sir John Robinson, manages Cranford Hall, their estate in the north of Northamptonshire. She has become an important contributor to voluntary sector activity with the country across a wide range of interests, including forestry, children and education. A former High Sheriff of Northamptonshire, and a member of The Court of The University of Northampton.
Honorary Award Recipient: Fellowship, November 2003.

Gary Wolstenholme

Born in Surrey and now residing in Northamptonshire, Gary has played golf all over the world, winning tournaments on all five continents. Among his many achievements he can count 14 major international tournaments and 15 national tournament success. In team golf, he has a record 168 caps to become England’s most capped player ever.
Honorary Award Recipient: Master of Arts, November 2003.

Benjamin Zephaniah

The famous poet, playwright, actor, presenter and musician. His poetry is strongly influenced by the music and poetry of Jamaica and what he calls ‘street politics’.  Working in Asia, South America and Africa has given his poetry a global outlook which, in turn, has helped him understand his role as a poet and the nature of the cultural cement which binds us all together.
Honorary Award Recipient: Master of Science, November 2003.

Our Campus