COVID-19 Updates: For advice and updates for staff, students, and applicants who may have concerns about the coronavirus outbreak please visit our Situation Updates page.

Honorands 1989-1993

1993 Honorands

Sir David O’Dowd

Appointed Assistant Chief Constable of Northamptonshire Police and then Chief Constable in 1986. Following this period he also served as Deputy Assistant Commissioner with the Metropolitan Police and in 1993, appointed one of HM Inspectors of Constabulary from which he has now retired.
Honorary Award Recipient: Fellowship, November 1993.

Anne Fine OBE​

A successful author who was educated at Northampton High School for Girls and a former Children’s Laureate. Ms Fine has published over 21 books for children and adults, including one which was adapted for Hollywood; Mrs Doubtfire.
Honorary Award Recipient, Fellowship, November 1993.

Malcolm Frazer

Pursued a distinguished academic career, including his appointment in 1972 as Professor of Chemical Education at University of East Anglia, where for the last five years of his tenure he concurrently held the position of Pro-Vice Chancellor. In 1986 he became Director and Chief Executive of the Council for National Academic Awards and then the Chief Executive of the Higher Education Quality Council. He was honoured with a CBE in 1992.
Honorary Award Recipient (Leicester): Doctorate (of Science), July 1993.

Derek Redmond

International athlete, he was born in Bletchley, Northamptonshire and is a former student of Roade School and Nene College. Derek now works with UK Athletics as Director of Development for Sprints and Hurdles.
Honorary Award Recipient: Fellowship, 1993.

Professor Gerald Rousseau

A retired Director of the Ecole Superieure de Commerce in Poitiers, France. He is a keen supporter of the partnership arrangements between the former University College of Northampton and the Ecole, founded on a common interest in the teaching of business studies and commerce during the 1980s.
Honorary Award Recipient, Fellowship, November 1993.

Mr David Wright

A poet and literary editor. He was educated in South Africa, before moving onto Northampton School for the Deaf and then Oriel College, Oxford. He has published numerous collections of poetry and has edited collections of works for other poets, including Thomas Hardy and Edward Thomas.  His prose writing includes ‘Deafness: a personal account’.
Honorary Award Recipient (Leicester): Doctorate (of Letters), July 1993.

1992 Honorands

Lady Mary Elizabeth Baker

Honorary Award Recipient: Fellowship, 1992.

Robert Ian Campbell

Honorary Award Recipient: Fellowship, November 1992.

Roderick Picks

Honorary Award Recipient: Fellowship, November 1992.

John Ernest Sellars

Director and Chief Executive of Business and Technology Education Council 1983-1994.
Honorary Award Recipient: Fellowship, November 1992

1991 Honorands

Lord St John of Fawsley 1929-2012

Norman St-John Stevas was educated at Ratcliffe and at Fitzwilliam College, Cambridge graduating in Law. He was elected MP for Chelmsford in 1963, became a member of the government in 1979 and was appointed to the Privy Council and held the post of Chancellor the Duchy of Lancaster, Lead of the House of Commons and Minister for the Arts. In 1987 he was created Baron St John of Fawsley, taking as his territorial adscription Preston Capes in the Country of Northampton, where he now lives.
Honorary Award Recipient (Leicester): Doctorate (of Laws), July 1991.

Professor Gerald Teasdale Fowler

Honorary Award Recipient: Fellowship, November 1991.

Professor Dr Hans-Joachim Troeber

Retired head of the Fachhochschule, Rheinlandflatz and Member of University College Northampton.
Honorary Award Recipient: Fellowship, November 1991.

The Rt Revd William Westwood

Bishop of Peterborough. After ordination in 1952, he was appointed Curate of Holy Trinity, Hull. Since then he has been Rector of Lowestoft, Vicar of St Peter Mancroft, Norwich and Area Bishop of Edmonton, London, Chairman of the Church of England Committee for Communications, President of the Church Housing Association. He has also been a member of the Board of Governors of Nene College.
Honorary Award Recipient (Leicester): Doctorate (of Laws), July, 1991.

1989 Honorands

Dr Franklyn Perring

A Northamptonshire resident, was the General Secretary of the Royal Society for Nature Conservation and was formerly Head of the Biological Records Centre at Monks Wood in Cambridgeshire. He has edited a number of floras (manuals for the identification of plant species) and contributed to the Journal of Ecology.
Honorary Award Recipient (Leicester): Honorary Doctorate of Science, July 1989.

Mr Ward J Timken

Former director of the Timken Company, which has it British headquarter in Northampton and is President of the Timken Company Charitable Trust and of orther private foundations which support civic, educational and charitable causes.
Honorary Award Recipient (Leicester): Honorary Doctorate of Laws, July 1989.

Our Campus