University Management Team

How we are managed

The University Management Team (UMT) meets fortnightly and considers matters relating to the strategic oversight of the University.  The current members of UMT are:


Deans of Faculties

  • John Sinclair, Faculty of Art, Science and Technology:
    Responsible for the leadership of the Faculty of Arts, Science and Technology.
  • Karen Jones, Faculty of Business and Law:
    Responsible for the leadership of the Faculty of Business and Law.
  • Dr Jacob Saranga, Faculty of Health, Education and Society:
    Responsible for the leadership of the Faculty of Arts, Science and Technology.

Dean of Academic Partnerships

Dean of Research, Impact and Innovation

  • Dr Cathy Smith:
    Operational responsibility for the oversight of the University’s research (including the University’s preparations for national research assessment exercises, the Research Institute and research funding).

Directors and Executive Directors of Professional Services

  • Becky Bradshaw, Executive Director of Estates and Campus Services:
    Operational responsibility for estates and campus services and the lead for institutional Environmental Sustainability, Health and Safety, and Business Continuity.
  • Mark Hall, Executive Director of Finance:
    Operational responsibility for the University’s finances.
  • Annette Devine, Interim Academic Registrar:
    Interim Academic Registrar
  • Wray Irwin, Director of Enterprise and Employability:
    Operational responsibility for Changemaker, student employability and enterprise development.
  • Sammy Massiah, Chief Information Officer:
    Operational responsibility for the University’s IT Services, Business Intelligence and Management Information team and the University’s Records Management Unit.
  • Deborah Mattock, Executive Director of Human Resources, Marketing and International Relations:
    Operational responsibility for human resources (including staff development), marketing, student recruitment and the University’s website.
  • Chris Powis, Director of Library and Learning Services:
    Responsible for the University’s library, student and staff academic skills development and the University’s virtual learning environment, NILE. 

The Manager of the Officer of the Vice Chancellor, Vanessa Sulch: or the Executive Officer, Nick Allen:, clerks the University Management Team.

Register of Interests

The University is committed to maintaining the highest standards in the conduct of its business. This requires everyone associated with the University to conduct themselves with integrity, impartiality, honesty and professionalism at all times, and to avoid any conflict arising between their official University duties and their private interests.

Annually, members of the Board, external committee members, senior post holders and senior managers provide the University with information about their interests and activities outside the University.

This information is held by the Clerk to the Board of Governors and reviewed annually by the Audit Committee.

Download register of interests of University governors and senior managers.

Our Campus