Institute of Health and Wellbeing

What is the Institute of health and wellbeing?

The Institute of Health and Wellbeing (IoHW) aims to improve the health and wellbeing of the population, addressing inequalities through innovative interdisciplinary research, education and enterprise. We pride ourselves on our participatory approach and our interprofessional relationships. Our ability to draw on academic expertise from disciplines as diverse as biochemistry, business, computing, education, human geography, and psychology, as well as those more traditionally related to health and social care, means that we can consider real-world problems holistically. To understand these problems, we collaborate with other universities, health and social care providers, patients, carers and service users at the beginning of the process to ensure we ask the right questions and use appropriate methods to provide answers that enable our research to make a positive difference to people in their communities.

Areas of interest

The work of the Institute of Health and Wellbeing is organised into five centres:

We have two themes that cut across all of the work we deliver:

  • reducing health inequality
  • ensuring patient and public involvement

 

IoHW Staff

Professor Judith Sixsmith, Director IoHW

Professor Judith Sixsmith

judith.sixsmith@northampton.ac.uk

01604 892309

Katie Jones, Manager IoHW

katie.jones@northampton.ac.uk

01604 892887

Institute of Health and Wellbeing Profile

Joanne Alexander, Researcher

joanne.alexander@northampton.ac.uk

Institute of Health and Wellbeing Profile

Natasha Bayes, Research Assistant

Natasha Bayes

Natasha.bayes@northampton.ac.uk
01604 892784

Institute of Health and Wellbeing Profile

Professor Jackie Campbell, Professor of Neurophysiology

jackie.campbell2@northampton.ac.uk

01604 892010

Institute of Health and Wellbeing Profile

Alison Ward, Researcher

Alison Ward

alison.ward@northampton.ac.uk
01604 893559

Institute of Health and Wellbeing Profile

Professor Helen Lomax, Professor in Health and Wellbeing

Professor Helen Lomax

helen.lomax@northampton.ac.uk

01604 892871

Institute of Health and Wellbeing Profile

Janice Jones, Project Administrator

Janice Jones - Institute of Health and Wellbeing

janice.jones@northampton.ac.uk

Institute of Health and Wellbeing Profile

Dr Lee Machado, Co Lead Ageing Research Centre

Dr Lee Machado

lee.machado@northampton.ac.uk

Institute of Health and Wellbeing Profile

Dr Tracey Redwood, Senior Lecturer in Children’s Nursing

Tracey Redwood - Institute of Health and Wellbeing

tracey.redwood@northampton.ac.uk
01604 893419

Institute of Health and Wellbeing Profile

Dr Sarah Neill, Associate Professor, Children’s Nursing

Dr Sarah Neill

sarah.neill@northampton.ac.uk

01604 892871

Institute of Health and Wellbeing Profile

 Dr Jacqueline Parkes, Associate Professor Mental Health, Centre Lead for CAMHR

Dr Jacqueline Parkes


jackie.parkes@northampton.ac.uk

01604 892720

Institute of Health and Wellbeing Profile

 Dr Michelle Pyer, Senior Researcher

Dr Michelle Pyer

michelle.pyer@northampton.ac.uk

01604 892831

Institute of Health and Wellbeing Profile

Dr Stuart Raleigh, Centre Lead for PACD

Dr Stuart Raleigh
stuart.raleigh@northampton.ac.uk

01604 892306

Institute of Health and Wellbeing Profile

Julie Bedster, Institute Administrator

Julie.bedster@northampton.ac.uk

Geoff Glover, Business Development and Innovation Officer

Geoff.glover@northampton.ac.uk

Professor Jane Callaghan, Centre for Children and Life Lead

Dr Jane Callaghan

Jane.callaghan@northampton.ac.uk

For further information please visit the Institute of Health and Wellbeing website.

IoHW ribbon family

Publications

Select a recent output below or view all research outputs on NECTAR.